Which writers should be considered for the 2017 Hugo Award?

The following are the writers whose work should be nominated for the Hugo Award for Best Novel, the same award that went to the best novel by a female writer in 2017.

The nominees will be announced during the 2017 Hugos.

— Andrew Harrer, Bleacher.com, The Best of the Year (December 2017)–S.L. Mencken, The Closing of the American Mind (April 2016)–Natalie Pratchett, The Last Unicorn (October 2015)–Alicia Vikander, The Girl on the Train (April 2014)–G. K. Chesterton, A Portrait of a Lady (January 2013)–Yael Stein, The House of Bones (September 2012)–Rachel Kushner, The Long Walk Home (July 2011)–Ellen Datlow, The Drowned City (March 2010)–E.

L Hill, A Time to Kill (November 2009)–Carol Ann Duffy, The Moon is a Harsh Mistress (September 2008)–Pablo Neruda, The Unbreakable Machine (August 2007)–Emily Nussbaum, The Darker Side of Beauty (July 2007)–Carol Weisberg, The Day the Earth Stood Still (October 2006)–M.A. Montgomery, The End of the House (June 2006)This list was assembled using nominations for the four best books of 2017, along with nominations for other nominees.

The Hugos are presented as a list of nominations from the Hugo Awards and as a compilation of nominations received from the world’s major literary, arts, and cultural organizations.

The Hugo awards are the world award for the Best Novel category.

A total of 25 authors received the Hugo’s award for best novel, including five women: Marianne Williamson, The Handmaid’s Tale; Nnedi Okorafor, The Hunger Games; Margaret Atwood, The Fault in Our Stars; and Gail Simone, The Windup Girl. 

Six writers received the honor of best short story: Julie Delpy, The Leftovers; Laura Collins, The Giver; Lili Reinhart, The Sisters Brothers; and David Foster Wallace, Infinite Jest. 

The list also includes six people who received no nominations for their novels: Elizabeth Bear, The Red, The White, The Lovely Bones; Jennifer Egan, The Blue; and Marjane Satrapi, The Name of the Wind. 

There were two authors who were not eligible for the award: J.K. Rowling, The Casual Vacancy; and James Patterson, The Storm Child.

The nominees include:

Related Post